2017 Nominees

Women Who Make Southwest Florida

The following women were nominated for 2017 MAKERS for leaving a special, lasting impact on the people, environment, economy and/or culture of Southwest Florida:

Eileen Arsenault, President, Audubon of the Western Everglades
Ava Barrett, Director, Clewiston Public Library
Amy Bennett Williams, Senior Writer/Watchdog, The News-Press
Claribel Bocanegra, Owner, Porto Fino Dental; Founder, YES to Youth
Wilma Boyd, President & CEO, Preferred Travel of Naples
Maria Luisa (Lulu) Carter, President, House of Gaia
Samantha Castellano Dzembo, Founder/President, Wobbly Feet Foundation, Inc.
Mimi Chapin Gregory, President, Alliance Francaise of Bonita Springs
Marisa Cleveland, Executive Director of R&D, The Seymour Agency
Carolyn Conant-Adair, Founder, Cape Coral Bike-Ped
Kristen Coury, Founder & Producing Artistic Director, Gulfshore Playhouse
Dawn Marie Driscoll, Author/Attorney
Judy Evans, Founder/Program Director, MusicScores! Foundation
Robin Gretz, Founder/Manager, Pine Manor Community Garden
Mamie Holst, Artist
Niccole Howard, Executive Director, Collier Child Care Resources
Amanda Jaron, Founder, The GLITTER Foundation Inc.
Ileane Katzer Flores, Teacher, Riverdale High School
Kathryn Kelly, President & CEO, The Heights Foundation
Arlene Knox, V.P. of Philanthropy, Planned Parenthood of Southwest & Central Florida
Lakshmi Krishnan, President, Raaga Inc.
Leoma Lovegrove, Owner, Lovegrove Gallery & Gardens
Jean Ann Lynch, Founder/President, Baby Basics of Collier County
Janeice Martin, Collier County Court Judge
Julie Mathis, Executive Director, Charlotte County Chamber of Commerce
Heather Mazurkiewicz, Founder/President, The Florida Cancer Presumption Coalition
Barbara Meek, Owner & Assistant Director, Harmon-Meek Gallery
Myra Mendible, Professor, Comparative Literary and Cultural Studies, Florida Gulf Coast University
Sharon Miller, Founder, Trailways Camp
Sharon Murphy, Founder & CEO, The McGregor Clinic, Inc.
Cindy-Lee Overton, Social Dance Instructor/National Dance Competitor
Kamela Patton, Superintendent, Collier County Public Schools
Melanie Payne, Columnist, The News-Press
Mandie Rainwater, Executive Board Member, C.A.R.E.S. Suicide Prevention
Jessica Rhea, Director of Service-Learning, Florida Gulf Coast University
Ketty Rodriguez-Busquets, Owner & CEO, Easy Trámites Corp.
Karen Rollins, Former President & CEO, Avow Hospice, Inc.
Mary Ann Rule, Volunteer Caregiver, Buddy Break
Mary-Regina “Gina” Sabiston, Chair, City of Fort Myers Historic Preservation Commission
Pamella Seay, Professor, Department of Justice Studies, Florida Gulf Coast University
Linda Sexton, Registered Dental Hygienist
Katherine Shortlidge, Program Coordinator, Calendar Girls Florida
Barbara Siegel, Immediate Past President, The Jewish Federation of Lee and Charlotte Counties
Christine Smith, Coordinator, Kiwanis Shoes for Kids Project
Marilyn Smith-Mooney, Executive Administrator, Peace River Botanical and Sculpture Gardens
Stephanie Spell, Chief of Community Engagement, Collier County Sheriff’s Office
Carlene Thissen, Author, Immokalee’s Fields of Hope
Annette Trossbach, Producing Artistic Director, The Laboratory Theater of Florida
Linda Uhler, Chair, Sanibel Public Library Board of Commissioners
Yajaida Vasquez, Nurse Practitioner, Suncoast Medical Centers of SWFL
Judie Zimomra, City Manager, City of Sanibel
Susan Zumstein, Executive Director, Quest for Success